A motorcycle is arguably the most dangerous means of transportation. And statistics of motorcycle accidents in Florida serve as a compelling proof of that.
Fact: Nearly 20 percent of all motor vehicle accident fatalities in Florida involve a motorcyclist even despite the fact that the number of cars in the state exceeds the number of motorcycles by over 24 times.
Even though motorcycles are known to be dangerous and even deadly, this means of transportation still attracts hundreds of thousands of teens and people in their 20s and 30s in Pembroke Pines and elsewhere in Florida.
Many motorcycle riders in Florida do not realize the importance of abiding by all safety rules to protect themselves and others from injuries and fatalities. And while many riders disregard these rules, Florida imposes certain safety laws for motorcyclists, a violation of which can get you in trouble with the law.
Safety laws for motorcyclists in Florida
After reviewing the safety laws that exist for motorcycle riders in Florida, our Pembroke Pines motorcycle accident attorney from the Law Offices of Bradley Hartman has summarized them as follows:
- Riders under the age of 21 are required to wear a motorcycle helmet
- Riders over the age of 21 are NOT required to wear a motorcycle helmet, but only if they can show proof of medical insurance coverage, which is minimum $10,000 in Florida
- All motorcyclists are required to wear eye protection
- Any motorcycle registered or driving through Pembroke Pines or elsewhere in Florida must be equipped with a footrest and a seat for any passenger
- First-time motorcycle licensees are legally required to pass a rider education course in Florida
- All motorcycles must have mirrors on both sides, turn signals and mufflers that prevent excessive, unusual, or unnecessary noise from the motorcycle (86 decibels max)
- Florida laws ban lane-splitting (the practice of riding a motorcycle between lanes)
- Handlebars should not be higher than the motorcyclist’s shoulders when seated
- Headlight use is mandatory even in the daytime; and
- Motorcycle riders are required to carry minimum liability coverage according to Florida laws.
What damages can you recover after a motorcycle accident in Florida?
While determining liability in a motorcycle crash may not be the easiest task if you are not represented by an experienced motorcycle accident attorney in Pembroke Pines or elsewhere in Florida, you may be entitled to some or all of the following damages if you can prove the at-fault party’s liability.
- Medical expenses, including past, present and future
- Loss of income for the time period you were physically incapable of working due to your motorcycle accident injuries, as well as future lost wages for the duration of your recover
- Loss of earning capacity, if you are unable to return to your job because your ability to work has been affected
- Pain and suffering
- Emotional distress and mental anguish as a result of the traumatizing collision
- Loss of consortium; and
- Many others.
Do not hesitate to file a personal injury claim after a motorcycle accident to recover compensation for your injuries, damages, and losses. Florida’s statute of limitations (the time period within which you can file a claim against the at-fault party) for motorcycle accidents is four years from the date of your injury.
If you lost a family member in a motorcycle crash and you are an eligible heir, you should bring a wrongful death claim within two years from the date of the fatal accident in Pembroke Pines or elsewhere in Florida.
Failure to file a claim in a timely manner may result in the loss of your right to pursue compensation. Consult with our Pembroke Pines motorcycle accident attorney from the Law Offices of Bradley Hartman to speak about your case and discuss all available ways to recover compensation. Call our offices at 954-438-1000 or complete this contact form to get a free consultation.